Friday, 7 May 2010

A Labour team returned to represent De Beauvoir

De Beauvoir residents yesterday re-elected three Labour councillors to represent them on local issues.

Rob Chapman, Gulay Icoz and Tom Ebbutt will represent you for the next four years, along with Hackney Mayor Jules Pipe and Hackney South & Shoreditch MP Meg Hillier - also re-elected yesterday.

Outgoing Labour Councillor, Chris McShane, said he was extremely proud of the work Labour had done in the past 4 years and delighted there will be an equally strong Labour team working for De Beauvoir in the years to come.

Votes for De Beauvoir in full:
Tory 1017
Tory 1073
Rob Chapman Lab 2522
Tom Ebbutt Lab 2456
Lib 1513
Green 800
Gulay Icoz Lab 2307
Lib 1245
Tory 993
Lib 856

Meg Hillier won with 55% of the vote, up 3% on the last General Election. Jules Pipe was re-elected as Mayor of Hackney on first preference votes.

Terrible election for the Tories
The Conservative candidate for MP, Simon Nayyar, came in 3rd with just 13% of the vote - less than the Conservative vote at the last election. Locally, the leader of the Conservative group on Hackney Council also lost his seat.

No comments: