Thursday, 18 April 2013

New Hackney Council ward boundaries announced, including changes to De Beauvoir ward

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has published its final decision for future electoral arrangements in Hackney.

This means from 2014 the current De Beauvoir Ward will be split at the Regent's Canal with residents in the south of the current ward becoming part of a new Hoxton East and Shoreditch ward.

The new De Beauvoir ward will be from Balls Pond Road down to the canal bounded by Kingsland Road to the east and Southgate Road to the west and will be represented by two councillors rather than the present three. Hoxton East and Shoreditch ward will cover what is currently the south of De Beauvoir ward and then follow Hoxton Street south as far as the southern tip of the borough.

A new Hoxton West ward will then cover the western part of the current Hoxton Ward. Both Hoxton East and Hoxton West wards will have three councillors.

The current wards will continue to exist as they are until the Local Government elections in 2014.

This new structure is the conclusion of a process that started in the middle of last year.

All of the details of the changes including the full consultation process and maps are available on the LGBCE website.

If you have any questions for the LGBCE regarding the changes the contact details are also available on their site.

No comments: